Basis for a Forbidden Item - When is the Rule of 'Migo D'Itkatzai' Applied

This question and answer were automatically translated using our trained AI and have not yet been reviewed by a qualified rabbi. Please treat this translation with caution.
Go to original →

Question

Hello, I wanted to ask about the rule of basis for a forbidden item, which states that it is forbidden to move the basis even after the muktzeh has been removed from it, due to the rule of 'migo d'itkatzai'. What is the law in a case where it was possible to blow the muktzeh off at any time with one's mouth or move it using a permissible item for the sake of its place (according to the Taz, this is considered as moving from the side)? Is it considered as 'gomro b'yade adam', and at least will it be permitted after the muktzeh has been removed, since it could have been permitted not to be considered a basis at any time (unlike a candle which is forbidden due to extinguishing), even if we say that the rule of 'gomro b'yade adam' does not apply to a basis, at least there will not be the rule of 'migo d'itkatzai'. Thank you very much!!!

Answer

Hello 

In several places, it is explained that even if it was possible to blow it off during twilight, it becomes a basis. 

See sources. 

Comments

Have an additional question on this topic or need clarification? Leave your comment below. (Please note that the comment will not be published but will be sent directly to the answering Rabbi for review and a private response)

Please sign up or log in to submit your comment